Bishop’s Lent Challenge Weeks 4-7

Weeks 4 – 7

The Challenge is to use a form of daily prayer every weekday during Lent. An Order for Daily Prayer, together with daily Readings and Collects is provided. Find a quiet time each day in a comfortable chair to pray and to read a Bible reading, either alone or with someone else. It should take about 15 minutes. You will need a Bible.
God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and in truth. (John 4.24).

Merciful Lord, grant to your faithful people pardon and peace, that we may be cleansed from all our sins, and serve you with a quiet mind; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.
Psalm 95.1-5
O come let us sing out to the Lord;
Let us shout in triumph to the rock of our salvation.
Let us come before his face with thanksgiving
And cry out to him joyfully in psalms.
For the Lord is a great God
And a great king above all gods.
In his hand are the depths of the earth
And the peaks of the mountains are his also.
The sea is his and he made it,
His hands moulded dry land.
A Bible Reading (see Daily Readings)
Pause for Reflection on the reading.
Canticle (Part 2)
You, Christ, are the king of glory,
The eternal Son of the Father.
When you took our flesh to set us free,
You humbly chose the Virgin’s womb.
You overcame the sting of death
And opened the kingdom of heaven to all believers.
You are seated at God’s right hand in glory:
We believe that you will come to be our judge.
Come then, Lord, and help your people,
Bought with the price of your own blood,
And bring us with your saints
To glory everlasting.
Prayers: For Family and Friends
For the Church
For the World
For those who are sick or in need
Collect of the Day (See Collects)
The Lord’s Prayer
The Ending: The Grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit, be with us all evermore. Amen

Week 4 (Collect)
Merciful Lord,
Grant your people grace to withstand the temptations
of the world, the flesh and the devil
and with pure hearts and minds to follow you, the only God;
through Jesus Christ our Lord.
Monday 5th March. 1 Corinthians 7: 25 – 31
Tuesday 6th March. 1 Corinthians 7: 32 – 40
Wednesday 7th March 1 Corinthians 8: 1 – 13
Thursday 8th March. 1 Corinthians 9: 1 – 15
Friday 9th March. 1 Corinthians 9: 16 – 27
Saturday 10th March. 1 Corinthians 10: 1 – 13
Week 5 (Collect)
Lord God
whose blessed Son our Saviour
gave his back to the smiters
and did not hide his face from shame:
Give us grace to endure the sufferings of this present time
with sure confidence in the glory that shall be revealed;
through Jesus Christ our Lord.
Monday 12th March. 1 Corinthians 10: 14 – 11: 1
Tuesday 13th March. 1 Corinthians 11: (2-16) 17-34
Wednesday 14th March. 1 Corinthians 12: 1 – 11
Thursday 15th March 1 Corinthians 12: 12 – 26
Friday 16th March. 1 Corinthians 12: 27-13: 3
Saturday 17th (St Patrick’s Day) Acts 16: 6 – 10
Week 6 (Collect)
Most merciful God
Who by the death and resurrection of your Son Jesus Christ
Delivered and saved the world:
Grant that by faith in him who suffered on the cross
We may triumph in the power of his victory;
Through Jesus Christ our Lord.
Monday 19th Mar Matthew 13: 54 – 58
Tuesday 20th Mar 1 Corinthians 14: 20-33a,
(33b-38), 39 – 40
Wednesday 21st Mar 2 Corinthians 2: 14-3:6
Thursday 22nd Mar 2 Corinthians 3: 7 – 18
Friday 23rd Mar 2 Corinthians 4: 1 – 12
Saturday 24th Mar 2 Corinthians 4: 13 – 18
Week 7 (Collect)
Almighty and everlasting God,
Who, in your tender love towards the human race,
Sent your Son our Saviour Jesus Christ
To take upon him our flesh
And to suffer death upon the cross:
Grant that we may follow the example
Of his patience and humility,
And also be made partakers of his resurrection;
Through Jesus Christ our Lord.
Monday 26th Mar Luke 22: 1-23
Tuesday 27th Mar Luke 22: 24-53 or 39-53
Wednesday 28th Mar Luke 22: 54-71
Maundy Thursday 29th Mar Luke 23: 1-25
Good Friday 30th Mar John 19: 38-42
Easter Eve 31st Mar John 2: 18-22